Posted by: mdmusingsie | December 22, 2012

‘Tis the Season, revisited

Well, we’re still here – the world didn’t end yesterday. That’s another thing you can put on your list of things to be thankful for at this time of year. My Christmas shopping is complete – proximity to family and most of my friends driving a 98% online ordering frenzy last weekend. However, around town the hustle and bustle of the season is hitting fever pitch, so I thought it time for a little more holiday cheer.

I went to Dublin last Saturday (note to self: avoid Dublin on the weekend during December as you would avoid U.S. malls on the weekend after Thanksgiving). I had to mail a few last minute cards (I don’t trust the Galway post office which only delivers about half of my cards and letters) and of course run a few errands.

My latest search for something I thought was simple led to the greatest number yet of shop attendants looking at me as if I had two heads. Twice in Galway and three times in Dublin I entered framing shops looking for framing points (also known as glazing points or glazier points) – the little metal objects with triangular heads that you use with a flat head screwdriver to hold a picture inside a wooden frame. Although none of the names I used rang any bells, once I described the objects they appeared to know what I was talking about but no one could tell me where to purchase them. Thankfully there is Amazon.

Today was Galway’s Christmas parade. I didn’t think a parade could get any shorter than the one at Halloween, but this one, at 10-12 shopping carts long, can now enter the books as the shortest parade I’ve ever witnessed. Despite the brevity, I give high kudos to The Colours Street Theatre for their efforts in not only creating the parade but preparing all the banners and puppets. Everything starts from a seed, and hopefully the Theatre Company will continue their efforts and these two parades will grow in the years to come.

Nollaig Shona agus Athbhliain Faoi Mhaise.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

