Posted by: mdmusingsie | October 31, 2012

Oíche Samhna

On what is arguably one of the strangest days/nights of the year, I witnessed the shortest parade I’ve ever seen.  Coming in at no more than 2 minutes, the Galway Halloween parade made its way down (and then back up) Shop Street.  Lead by Galway’s Colours Street Theatre it also contained members of Galway’s Egyptian Dance group.  According to the advertisement, the Cathedral Gospel Choir was to have participated, but they were nowhere to be seen.

Not only was the parade short, but it didn’t take on the normal parade arrangement, with spectators lining the streets. Instead they hovered around the theatre group as if expecting a performance.  I suspect a hefty percentage of those who witnessed the event didn’t even know it was a planned parade.

Everyone, costumed or not, was encouraged to participate and soon a large crowd was following along as if we were all being led by the Pied Piper.  I often questioned why I was following, as it was night, chilly, and I was not in fancy dress (FYI – fancy dress is a European term for costume dress).  I justified my presence by telling myself I was looking for good pictures of little trick-or-treaters, but there was also a somewhat unexplainable feeling of being drawn along by an unseen force.  More adults than children were dressed for the occasion, so my photo selection was limited.

I had already provided treats to the same three trick-or-treaters as I had last year (kids from the apartment complex) after they serenaded me with a Halloween tune in Irish (for which I offered a “maith thú” in return).  With the better part of two bags of candy left, I placed a handful in each pocket to see how many ghosts and goblins I could distribute it to along the parade route.  One group of young girls was soliciting treats from businesses along Forester and the tenacious one of the group approached me with her bucket and a ‘trick-or-treat’ request.  I think she was surprised as well as pleased that I had candy in my pockets and I was able to lighten the load a little with this group.  A few pieces still made it back home, but not nearly as many will eventually make it to my hips.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Responses

  1. looks like it was enthusiastic!!! Halloween Song? Variation on the “12 Days of Christmas”?

    • Actually, the tune was from Frère Jacques and the song is in Irish called Oíche Shamhna. It was very cute.

  2. […] was Galway’s Christmas parade. I didn’t think a parade could get any shorter than the one at Halloween, but this one, at 10-12 shopping carts long, can now enter the books as the shortest parade I’ve […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

