Posted by: mdmusingsie | April 30, 2010

Location, location, location

In hindsight, I probably should have done a little more research before selecting my apartment, but after about 6 weeks of being turned down by everyone I contacted, I took what was offered.  They say everything happens for a reason; hopefully by the end of this adventure, I will know the “why”.

Clonbur is about 45 minutes NW of Galway City (the brochures say 30 minutes, but that’s only on a clear day with no one else on the road the entire way – note to self, take all driving times in Ireland and add 50-100%).

It’s definitely a small town.  On the plus side, the grocery store has a nice selection of fruit and veg (plurals are optional – vegetables are veg, clouds are cloud, and a few others that escape me).  On the minus side, my first bit of research yesterday turned up that Bus Eireann does not stop in Clonbur.  It does stop in Cong (the next town over where they filmed The Quiet Man), but that’s about 6 km away on a very narrow, windy, road that would be dangerous at times to walk, and there’s only one bus in/out per day.  We’ll see how this plays out.  I didn’t want to have to pay for a rental car for the entire period (tá sé daor, chomh maith, agus, beidh sé díomhaoin, go minic) – another thing that will have to play out as it will.

Sam Keator (Ceili instructor) hooked me up with a friend of his (Todd Silverstein) from Willamette University who is living temporarily in Galway and teaching at the college.  We had dinner the other night and went to see a concert of traditional (trad) music at the Town Hall Theatre in Galway.  It was a great show.  I had only seen/heard of one of the artists before (Laoise Kelly – amazing harpist), but all the performers were very good.

As I mentioned, parking is daor, and scarce, I walked down to meet Todd at the theatre.  It was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.  I’ve been doing quite a bit of walking the last few days.  My feet are tuirseach, but it’s good for the rest of my body, and in line with one of my goals here, which is to walk more, sit/drive less.

Leave a Reply

Categories

