Posted by: mdmusingsie | May 31, 2015

It’s Cygnet Time Again!

I was a bit concerned when I was in St. Stephen’s Green a few weeks ago as all I could find was a single swan. Around the pond I went, over the bridge and up both of the other sides, but no sign of a nest or mate for the lone swan.

Swans mate for life, so the thought of this poor lonely soul traveling the pond alone was a sad thought indeed. Maybe the nest was somewhere I couldn’t see. I never wanted to entirely give up hope.

Three weeks to the day later, my hopes have been rewarded. Three adorable balls of fur had just exited the pond and were shaking, shimmying, and sloughing off the extra water from their swim. Once Mom finished a good part of her preening, she led the single file march to the soft grass where the wee ones could plop themselves down for their afternoon nap.

Fresh from our swim

Fresh from our swim

Follow the leader (whilst Dad supervises)

Follow the leader (whilst Dad supervises)

Are we there yet?

Are we there yet?

Nap time

Nap time

Whilst not the bumper crop of nine that were born last year (which ended up being six or seven), I hope all three youngsters are able to grow in peace over the coming months. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

Categories

