Posted by: mdmusingsie | May 25, 2015

Healing Music

I sit listening to lyrics I don’t understand but the music doesn’t need translation. It knows how to speak to my soul. Though I lack the confidence to stand in a room full of strangers and dance, my heart puts its hand out to my soul and the dance begins inside of me. I don’t know nor care what day it is, what time it is, what bills need to be paid, what obstacles prevent me from finding purpose – in those minutes while the musicians are playing I am happy and at peace with the world.

That’s how I felt at a recent concert and that’s how I feel whenever particular melodies connect with my inner core. Certain musicians become my favorites because they touch me in that deep way either through rhythms or lyrics and sometimes both.

At this particular concert I saw Liam O’Maonlaí’s young daughter Pema play a tune on the tin whistle. I’ve seen him play with his son Cian as well. It’s in their genes, buried deep in their DNA. I envy them and other people who have such a strong musical lineage. I struggle to pluck harmony from my harp strings, but I keep at it because there is something in me that cries out for music. It’s most powerful in Traditional Irish music, though certain rock, pop, classical and even country songs have a similar effect.

Music is not only a universal language that unites people around the globe, it is a powerful healer. If it transports you out of your daily cares and worries and takes you to that place where you feel at one with the universe – that is healing. How often have you heard a favorite song and for that short time, forgot about the fight you had with your teenage kid, spouse, or boss; remembered a loved one that had passed; or simply made you feel joy in a day full of spiritual clouds? It doesn’t matter if it lasts as long as a song, a whole CD, throughout a concert, or lingers for hours afterwards, it leaves an indelible mark on the core of our being that tells us anything is possible.

Liam O'Maonlai, Cormac Begley

Liam O’Maonlai, Cormac Begley

Mattiú Ó Casaide, Eithne Ní Chatháin

Mattiú Ó Casaide, Eithne Ní Chatháin

Cormac Begley, Peter O'Toole

Cormac Begley, Peter O’Toole

Responses

  1. So wonderful that you have this appreciation of music, Dawn. Happy Memorial Day to you from Seattle.

    • Thanks Marie. Hope you had enjoyed the holiday weekend.

  2. Nice post. Yes, I feel the same way about music, especially hymns of the Christian faith. Love. A. Jan


Leave a Reply

Categories

