Posted by: mdmusingsie | November 28, 2014

Giving Thanks

As an American living in Ireland, my Thanksgiving may not be the stuff of my childhood, but that doesn’t mean I couldn’t find plenty of opportunities to represent the essence of the holiday:

  • I’m far away from family and friends but am thankful to have had the courage to not only come to live in Ireland but stick it out through some difficult days
  • I had to work on what was traditionally a day off, but I’m thankful to have a job that pays the bills and keeps me in Ireland
  • I wasn’t able to watch football all day, but I’m grateful for the Late Late Toy Show on RTE (it’s great craic, even if you don’t have children– check it out online. Some of the most beautiful music in the world is the sound of children’s laughter and you can’t help but smile at the joy on their faces during the holiday season)
  • I didn’t have a big turkey dinner that left me as stuffed as the bird, but I did have a nice meal with some lovely people before enjoying the High Kings concert (for those unfamiliar, the High Kings play a large variety of what I call pub songs, some well known traditional Irish tunes as well as others of their own creation – great sing-a-longs that keep your toes tapping and your hands clapping)

There are many other things for me to be thankful for including my family, the best of friends who keep in touch despite the miles between us, and all the gifts that have been bestowed on me from the pennies I find on the street to the amazing Irish music that continues to feed the flame of my soul.

Whilst I could go on, I’ll leave my last thanks for making it onto the short list for the Over the Edge New Writer of the Year contest this year, which was a welcome pick-me-up at a time when rejections seem to be piling up faster than snowflakes in Wisconsin, and finding enough time to devote to writing is a daily challenge.

Take a moment to list the things you are grateful for and I hope you had a very Happy Thanksgiving.

HighKings5_sm HighKings6_sm

Responses

  1. Congrats on making it on to the short list for the Over the Edge New Writer contest! I miss you and Ireland. Amanda and I went to the International Folk Fair recently and I bought a new Merino wool sweater from a booth hosted by the Mystic Ireland Celtic and Irish Gifts store which is located near by. I’m excited to go visit it soon. Hopefully they’ll have the Bailey’s chocolate besides the awesome sweaters. Take care and good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

