Posted by: mdmusingsie | December 10, 2012

‘Tis the Season

Deck the halls, the windows, the fireplace, the tree and maybe even a few shrubs. It’s that time of year. The Christmas Market is in full swing in Eyre Square and there’s only 14 shopping days left until Christmas (in case you needed a little more pressure).

The weather has certainly taken a more wintery turn, with night temperatures hovering a degree or two either side of freezing, and daytime temperatures wavering in the mid range of single digits (Celsius, of course). Last winter must have been a tease, as I don’t remember it being so cold. However, I am grateful that I haven’t had to use that most dreadful of four letter words that begins with an S and ends with a W. Like verbalizing the name of Shakespeare’s Scottish play, it’s bad luck to actually utter that four letter word.

One thing I found myself missing this year is all the Christmas special programs in the U.S. – A Charlie Brown Christmas, Frosty the Snowman, The Year Without a Santa Claus, and all the animated programs, including Nestor, The Long-Eared Christmas Donkey (even though I get teary-eyed every time his mother…well, I won’t spoil it for you if you haven’t seen it). I do have a few of them on DVD; however, they’re still in storage.

Last year I created my own Twelve Days of Christmas for things I was missing. I stocked up on a good percentage of the food items when I was in the U.S. in October. I even found a few things here in Ireland in specialty shops, though at highly inflated prices, in most cases.

I’ve collected a few more photos from Galway and Dublin for this year’s pictorial view of Ireland at Christmas. Although I think Brown Thomas puts on the best window displays, I did think the ones from 2011 were better.

My greatest wish for Christmas, as it has been for many years, is for Peace on Earth. That’s followed closely by finding my soul mate. But for things that can actually be wrapped and topped with a bow (I suppose that could be applied to the latter of the two previous, but that’s a whole different story), it would be for my condo to sell in the US so I can stop spending my dwindling resources on paying rent.

May you enjoy peace in your world this holiday season.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

