Posted by: mdmusingsie | November 30, 2012

Cygnet Update 7

I know you’re just sitting on the edge of your seats, waiting for the next installment of the Cygnet’s progress, so here you go.

I spotted the orphan cygnet in Galway about a month ago, but haven’t seen the other ones out and about when I’ve been in the Claddagh.  However, I was in Dublin the other day and was able to catch up with their group, who appear to be the same age.

The feathers are much more mottled now as white begins to dominate.  If you look closely at the Dublin photos, the beaks are starting to change color, ever so slightly.   “All I want for Christmas is my orange beak…” popped into my head as I watched.  I hope they get their wish.

In the pond at St. Stephen’s Green in Dublin, I spied a pair playfully nipping at each other whilst forming that symbol of love that swans seem to be made for.

Are they siblings engaged in a bit of banter and competition, or two adolescents, engaged in first love?  The hopeless romantic in me leans towards the latter.

Orphaned Cygnet in the Claddagh, Galway, November 2012

Orphaned Cygnet in the Claddagh, Galway, November 2012

Cygnets in St. Stephen's Green - Dublin - adolescent love

Cygnets in St. Stephen’s Green – Dublin – adolescent love

Cygnets in St. Stephen's Green - Dublin - adolescent love

Cygnets in St. Stephen’s Green – Dublin – adolescent love

Swans in St. Stephen's Green, Dublin

Swans in St. Stephen’s Green, Dublin

Cygnets in St. Stephen's Green - Dublin - adolescent love

Cygnets in St. Stephen’s Green – Dublin – adolescent love

Responses

  1. […] Slightly younger, it seems, they still have mottled feathers.  When I saw them in late November I wrote about their Christmas wish – at least one will be granted their orange beak.  With the large […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

