Posted by: mdmusingsie | April 7, 2012

Back to The Crane

It’s been nearly two years since I was in the Crane Bar in Galway.  Not because they don’t have fantastic seisiúns and concerts, but more related my aversion to going to pubs/bars by myself.  However, there are some performers worth dragging me out of my shell, and Laoise Kelly is one of them.  The last time Laoise was in Galway, two years ago, I missed the show as I had to return to the US, so I wasn’t going to let this opportunity pass me by.

Needless to say, I wasn’t disappointed.  Laoise (from Mayo) played her harp along with Michelle O’Brien, a talented fiddler from Clare.  It was a lively concert full of jigs, reels, and polkas, plus a few slower tunes thrown in to showcase the depth and breadth of talent.

As mentioned in a previous post on harps, I first heard Laoise Kelly play in Cape Breton at the Celtic Colours Festival, and was blown away by her energetic style.  I have several of her CDs and never tire of listening to the ethereal sounds of the harp.

Name that tune may not be Laoise’s strong point, as she frequently joked about not remembering the names, but play that tune certainly is a fine gift she has been given.  She has a carefree, comfortable presence on stage.  In contrast, I’m not sure Michelle said more than a word or two to the crowd during the performance, but her fiddle did the talking for her.  The duo put on a fine show that will leave toe-tapping music playing in your head long after the concert is over.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

