Posted by: mdmusingsie | December 31, 2011

Year End Wrap

The saying “time flies when you’re having fun” certainly applies to this year.  I can’t believe the year is over.  It has certainly been an eventful one for me, with plenty of ups and downs.

Not everyone gets the chance to follow their dreams, so I consider myself lucky to have the opportunities I’m currently experiencing.  While there have been a few nightmare days along the way, I love every day I get to spend in Ireland and have high hopes that my immigration issues will be successfully resolved so that I can spend many more days here.

Once that part of my dream is realized, I can focus my attention more fully on getting my novels published.  I’ve made some great strides in polishing the first one and will begin looking for an agent or publisher early in the New Year.  When I’m not working on my novels (sometimes you have to set things aside for a while and come back later with fresh eyes and a fresh perspective) I’ve been writing short stories and poems.  I received my first writing accolade this year for a short story I wrote and continue to enter writing contests to gain exposure, feedback, and hopefully recognition for my abilities.

Having shed the pressures of a high stress Information Technology career, I find myself more in tune with life, nature, and the beauty all around me.  This adventure has certainly made me a healthier person, in body, mind, and spirit.

I wouldn’t be able to do what I’m doing without the help and support of my friends and family. It’s not easy taking the road less traveled, and I’m grateful for their encouragement and all the supportive comments I’ve received on this blog.

I’m looking forward to a successful 2012 and I hope all of you reading this will have a safe, healthy, and prosperous New Year.

Athbhliain faoi mhaise daoibh!

Leave a Reply

Categories

