Posted by: mdmusingsie | May 19, 2011

The Postman Only Rings…

This isn’t the movies, so the answer isn’t “Twice”, however, my answer does make for an interesting story.

I’ve had three deliveries that required signature to date, two from Amazon (a printer and cable, and yes, they do have Amazon in the UK and they even have free shipping to Ireland over a certain amount) and one from my friend Juli sending me some of the stuff I couldn’t fit into my suitcases. Each time, I have been, shall we say, not exactly presentable when the doorbell rang.

The first time I was still in bed, awake, but just not up and about.  The next time I just about to get dressed after showering; and today I was actually in the shower when I heard the peal of the bell. I’m expecting two more packages, so who knows what state I’ll be in then.

One of the ironies of the situation is that the day I expected delivery number two, I didn’t get in the shower right away; not wanting to appear at the door in my robe again. As fate would have it, the delivery didn’t come that day, but rather the next.

I can only imagine what the courier thinks. This isn’t the regular letter carrier, though it’s still through An Post. They have separate folks who deliver packages, it appears, and this guy comes much earlier in the morning. I don’t exactly get out of bed at anything resembling a “normal” hour. I’ve never been a morning person, and as I have intermittent bouts of insomnia, I tend to sleep best after 4 am, which results in waking later in the morning.

If he were younger and more handsome, it might actually be more entertaining. Instead, I feel mildly embarrassed, but not enough to not answer the door – I want my packages.

Leave a Reply

Categories

