Posted by: mdmusingsie | May 5, 2011

Reflections

(Written 5/2/11) As I sit in my hotel room, ready to embark on the journey of a lifetime, I wanted to pause and rest my weary soul and reflect on how I arrived at this point.

As with everything in my life, it has been a struggle to get where I am today. Though it may seem to outsiders that I have it all and have it all together, few things have come easy for me. I’ve had to work (often very hard) for everything I have; nothing has been handed to me on a silver platter. What I have achieved has been done through perseverance and hard work; struggling through countless challenges and adversities to fight for a better life.

Somehow, along the way, I’d like to think I’ve grown a little wiser. In recent days, I have chosen not to dwell on all the bad things that have happened, but instead, count my blessings for all the good things that have come my way.

Although I thought I was relatively well prepared for a move of this magnitude, as usual, I underestimated the amount of time I needed to get everything in order. Add to the stress (or because of it) I wound up with a nasty cold the weekend prior to moving day. This set me back even more. Fortunately, I had the wherewithal to recognize my limitations and put out a rare call for help to my friends. For those that know me well, it’s not in my nature to ask for assistance on a frequent basis – I take care of things in my own way. This time, though, the universe convinced me that it was time to lay my pride aside and seek the help I would so desperately need the last few days.

Although I did expect a few people to assist, every single person I asked came through to help in one way or another. I can’t tell you how lucky I am to have such wonderful friends. They were there for me in my hours of need and I will forever be grateful.

As the movers, in their zeal to complete the packing as quickly as possible, often packed things that I had either wanted to take with or had planned to leave behind, I did not over stress. I’m learning to trust in the Gods and Goddesses to take care of the things I can’t control.
Was I entirely stress free? Hardly! I was at über stress level from waking (after a difficult night of sleep) until now, as I sit reflecting on the last few days. It has been a whirlwind of activity, but I’m putting my trust in the universe and my great friends to lead me down the path I’m supposed to walk.

I could be fretting right now over the box that was left behind in the garage, or the things that I should have brought verses a few items I had to bring as they did not get packed, or that I missed my last web design class, or a myriad of other things that will keep me awake long into the night; however, I feel oddly calm. Based on past experience, I can’t help wondering if I’m just in that eerie place in the eye of a storm. Hopefully, I’m really just learning to trust in the fates.

To all who came to my aid, words cannot possibly be thanks enough. Each of you has confirmed the importance of good friendships and I hope we will continue to be there for each other, though many miles will soon separate us. This is not an end; merely a new phase for each of us, and the opportunities for adventure have merely expanded.

May the blessings of the eternal ones shine on all of you and may they continue to send that tiny, intermittent, ray of light in my direction as they have these past few days. I have no doubt that many challenges still lie ahead for me, but maybe, if I trust that I am where I am supposed to be, I will worry much less and enjoy the experience much more.

Leave a Reply

Categories

