Posted by: mdmusingsie | July 4, 2010

Baking Cookies

The Irish must not be terribly fond of chocolate chip cookies as finding chocolate chips (semi-sweet or otherwise) was quite the challenge. I did find some tiny ones in 100gm bags, but they were daor (about the price of a 12 oz pkg in the US but only 1/3 the quantity). Therefore, I bought a few bars of assorted dark, medium, and white chocolate to break up and use instead. Naturally, after buying my bars of chocolate I did find a standard sized bag of semi-sweet chips in none other than the Evergreen health food store. It was tempting to surrender to convention but I decided my mix of chocolates would be far more interesting.

I suppose there are probably store-bought cookies of the chocolate chip variety, but I’ve never been a big fan of store-bought cookies, so didn’t bother looking.  If I’m going to have cookies, I want them home made.

Between my roommates and me, we had enough supplies to assemble cookie dough. I had originally considered baking at my first apartment, but having to buy flour, sugar (granular and brown), and all the other accoutrements seemed like too much of a hassle. Especially since neither apartment had cookie sheets nor standard mixing bowls. My roommates did have one measuring cup that they had purchased previously. It’s the little things that we tend to take for granted.

Despite all the challenges, the cookies came out very well. Instead of cookie sheets I used roasting pans with rounded sides, which made some of the cookies on the edges oblong instead of round – not that anyone really cares when eating them, it probably only matters if you’re selling them in a store.

However, the hunt for proper chocolate squashed my fantasy of becoming a confectioner (if the others of my several careers don’t work out). How can I make chocolate truffles if I can’t find enough proper chocolate to make chocolate chip cookies? I suppose there are always quick trips to wholesalers in Belgium as there aren’t any Trader Joe’s around. Yet another dream put on hold.

While the Irish may not favor chocolate chip cookies, they do like their ice cream. I was standing at the kitchen window, waiting for the ice to release itself from the temperamental ice trays when I saw someone walking down the street licking a soft serve ice cream cone. Now that, in and of itself isn’t that unusual; however, in this case, it was pouring down rain. Now that’s dedication.

Leave a Reply

Categories

