Posted by: mdmusingsie | May 22, 2010

From Raindrops to Sunshine

Tá sé te inniu.  Bhí an teocht ag fiche cúig céim. (That’s about 77 Fahrenheit for the US crowd.)  Warmest day of the trip so far.  A bit warm for my tastes, but I can handle it for short periods.  The average temperature in Galway over the summer is 65 which is right up my alley.

On my walk today I found one of the area walking trails – it’s a 6 k loop.  It was too warm to walk that far but I’ll keep it in mind for another day.  On the way back I stopped at one of the stores I hadn’t been to yet.  It’s quite large and has lots of interesting décor items, toys, and trinkets as well as a few kitchen items and a wine cellar.  I didn’t have much money on me as I had only been for a walk and just bought one little thing but will likely go back again and pick up a few things I spied.  As I paid for my purchase the gentleman handling my purchase actually spoke to me in Irish.  Not the whole time, mind you, but he did say Go Raibh Maith Agat and Slán.  I answered Slán back.  I think that’s the first time I’ve heard anyone speaking Irish since I arrived (outside of listening to Radió ná Gaeltachta). 

I can’t say that I’ve spent much time on my Irish studies, though.  Work does tend to get in the way of our leisure pursuits, and I’ve been trying to spend that time on major editing of my writings.  This weekend I hope to spend some time at my studies, or else I may lose everything I’ve learned the past year!

Slán go fóill

Leave a Reply

Categories

