Posted by: mdmusingsie | April 28, 2010

Arrived!

I finally arrived in Ireland – a week late but better than never. 

I would like to thank Continental airlines for getting me here as well as providing one of the most awful  migranes I’ve had in a long time.  I suspect the migrane was caused by sulfites on the fruit served with breakfast on the way out of Portland, as it hit me almost immediately after eating the fruit.   After one Tylenol I was able to function through the rest of the flight and the layover in Newark, but it intensified on the flight to Shannon and was so bad that the smell of the dinners being served nearly sent me to the little blue bag in the seat pocket in front of me.  Luckily, I was able to avoid that emarassment, and after another Tylenol, fell asleep for a while.  I was able to sleep on and off (as well as one can in coach) and was able to eat the croissant for breakfast (more fruit, miss; no, no thank you; one migrane a day is enough).

My rental car is only slightly larger than a smart car (technically a 4 seater hatchback) — small cars for small roads, I told the gal at the Budget desk when she asked about a mid-size upgrade.  Only 2 of my 4 bags would fit in the hatchback trunk.  Oh well, it’s not like I have to schlep them around a lot (thankfully, because they weigh a ton).  Getting out of the parking space I was sandwiched in at the airport made my point about car size.

Wandered around Galway City for a while as I arrived at the hotel around 9:30 am and couldn’t quite check in yet.  Started the phone saga which will be covered in detail in the next post.  Brilliantly, I hadn’t checked on internet usage at the Courtyard and when I returned, realized it would cost a fortune and I should have picked up a mobile broadband device while I was in town — there’s always tomorrow.

The adrenaline rush of travel finally moved on and I started nodding off during the 5:00 news.  Decided to dine at the hotel (my stomach having returned to it’s upright and locked position) and early to bed. 

Weather is overcast with off and on sprinkles and windy at times.  Probably in the 50’s but just perfect for me!

Random Thoughts:

Parking in Galway is daor!  (aka expensive to the non-Gael’s out there)

Leave a Reply

Categories

